1. Art Citi Gallery Exhibits 'Linear Concepts' by Artist Abrar Ahmed 6th-12th Feb!

    February 03,2016

    Art Citi Gallery Exhibits 'Linear Concepts' by Artist Abrar Ahmed 6th-12th Feb!
    A must visit for all classical romance art enthusiasts, the Art Citi Gallery exclusively exhibits the latest collection of paintings and sketches - Linear Concepts by eminent artist Abrar Ahmed opening on 6th Feb and continuing till 12th Feb.

    Those familiar with the artist's technique and inspiration admire him most for his poetic expression conveying "the pain of separation from a loved one".  Historical and philosophical in nature and subject matter, Abrar Ahmed is a self taught artist in the tradition of Sadequain and Gulgee, He freely delves into the romance of classical miniature painting, and fuses contemporary styles with stunning results. One discovers ethnic patterns, diverse textures and explosions of colours that are breath taking.certainly in Abrar’s work it appears that every painting or sketch is a poem.

    The artist’s subject, a bejeweled and gracefully draped woman, is often the centre of composition that includes a musical instrument or birds for company. Perhaps these cameos refer to the romantic period of the Emperor Jehangir when times were peaceful and lovers- together and apart- appeared to be a favoured subject. Birds- the messengers of Mughal art- are familiars and obviously important to the sinuous forms that dominate the brilliant colouration and powerful textural interest of their settings. 

    With 'Linear Concepts', the artist symbolizes the boundaries that both connect and distance us in so many ways. An incredibly imaginative and powerful portrayal with endless philosophical connotations, the artist invites you to share in his artistic dialogue and experience the display.

    Exhibit details: 6th-12th Feb. Opening day timings: 6pm-8pm at Art Citi Ggallery, 2nd floor, Plot 36C Bukhari Comm Lane 13, Khe Shujjat, DHA, Phase 6, Karachi. Visit the Event Page for more details.